Photo of a completed water retention project

Area II, formed in 1978 as a non-profit organization, works to alleviate the recurrent flood problems which plague this area of southwestern Minnesota.

This organization is recognized as a leader in flood damage reduction by the installation of dams/reservoirs and road retentions.





Member Counties:

  Brown County

  Cottonwood County

  Lac qui Parle County

  Lincoln County

  Lyon County

  Murray County

  Pipestone County

  Redwood County

  Yellow Medicine County





Area II assists the member counties in the engineering design, hydrologic and hydraulic modeling, construction, and finance of flood control projects. Assistance has also involved water management endeavors, river monitoring, and lake and wetland restoration projects.

Due to the unique land forms of this area, particularly the Coteau de Prairies (otherwise know as the Buffalo Ridge), Area II receives a cost-share rate of 75% state funding and 25% local funding for the office administration and project implementation. Oversight of this grant-in-aid program is provided by the Minnesota Board of Water & Soil Resources.

For more information, click on About Area II      

Website Accessibility

It is the goal of the Redwood-Cottonwood Rivers Control Area that the information on its website be accessible to individuals with disabilities in compliance with the requirements of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and that the statutes implementing regulations at 34 C.F.R. Part 104, and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and that statutes implementing regulations at 28 C.F.R. Part 35.

If you have difficulty accessing information on our website due to a disability, please contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and provide the URL (web address) of the material you tried to access, the problem you experienced and your contact information.  Be sure to include your name, email address and phone number so that we may contact you to provide the information in another format.



Office Hours

Monday-Friday 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

1424 E. College Drive, Suite 300

Marshall, MN 56258

Phone: 507-537-6369

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Upcoming Events

Area II and RCRCA Board of Directors start Joint Meetings at 9:00 a.m.

August 4, 2022 - Board Meeting - Thursday - Redwood Gov't Center, Commissioners Room/ Hybrid - 9:00 AM

September 1, 2022 - Board Meeting - Thursday - Lyon County Government Center - In-Person - 9:00 AM

October 6, 2022 - Board Meeting - Thursday - Redwood Learning Center - 9:00 AM


Meeting Locatio

Redwood Government Center - Learning Center, 501 S. Mill Street, Redwood Falls, MN 56283

Lyon County Commissioner's Room - Lyon County Courthouse - 607 W. Main Street, Marshall, MN 56258




Template by JoomlaShine